## The Student Council of the Missouri University of Science and Technology



2223R1 – Resolution Condemning the Faculty Senate's Decision to Exclude Student Comments from Feedback Available to Department Chairs from the Course Evaluation of Teaching (CET) Survey

WHEREAS, positive comments will reward effective instructors; and,

**WHEREAS**, granting department chairs permission to see comments will give them more information to evaluate teaching effectiveness and restructure courses; and,

**WHEREAS**, the Missouri University of Science and Technology is struggling to discourage students from enrolling in courses at other institutions; and,

WHEREAS, students feel that our voices are not valued; and,

**WHEREAS**, the Missouri University of Science and Technology is the only institution within the Missouri University System that withholds comments from department chairs; and,

WHEREAS, department chairs should see threatening and harassing comments; and,

**WHEREAS,** College Deans have access to department chair evaluation comments, which are provided by their faculty constituents,

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Missouri University of Science and Technology Student Body condemns the faculty's decisions to withhold CET survey comments from department chairs and strongly encourages a decision reversal.

Respectfully Submitted,	
Aaron Berkhoff College of Engineering and Computing Committee Chair	
Introduced on the 8 <sup>th</sup> of November, 2022	
Approved unanimously (94 votes) on the 29 <sup>th</sup> of November, 2022	
Wulfe Retzlaff Student Body President	
Trevor Pyron Vice President, Engagement and Outreach	Martin De La Hunt Vice President, Operations
Raheemat Rafiu	Jared Caldwell
Vice President, Academic Affairs	Vice President, Student Services